Day Fourteen: Things I Will Miss About the Mid-Atlantic

Well, we’ve hit that portion of my pre-moving freak out where I start to think “hmmm… maybe we could just stay here.”  Which is stupid (especially in this particular case), but I’ve hit the bargaining stage of the Moving Freak Out (denial, irrational anger with husband, and depression that I have to pack all my crap neatly into boxes instead of leaving it behind or throwing it out the windows are some of the other stages) and there’s nothing for it but to work through it.  So, a moment of tribute to Northern Virginia and environs — things I will miss.

  1. The view from our apartment.  I don’t even want to think how much money we threw down the toilet so that I could see the Washington Monument any time I wanted to (for the record, we didn’t pick this apartment because of the view; it was the best of a small number of not great options), but we have it and it’s lovely.  I also find watching all the traffic flowing (or not flowing, as the case may be) into and out of the city to be sort of cathartic and mesmerizing, in a schadenfreude sort of way.
  2. Target.  Going from three locations to choose from to one an hour-and-a-half drive away is NOT COOL.  Heck, even the nearest Walmart is a 40 minute drive.  (If that isn’t a first-world problem, I don’t know what is.)
  3. Trader Joe’s.  Oh, how I love thee, Trader Joe.  Even if the quality of your fruit and veg isn’t very good, and you only have two flavors of soy yogurt, and most of your pre-made food tastes terrible and is full of salt.  The delicious treats,  the quality cheeses and quaffable wines.  Your not-as-shocking-as-Whole Foods prices.  The fact that your store isn’t 17 acres and I don’t have to walk a mile to get from the fruit to the frozen foods.  And we’ll all really, really miss Marcus, our super-friendly and cool checker dude.  Rock on, Marcus.
  4. The Museums.  I have to admit that the museums were basically a bust with Badger, but I loved them when we were here 10 years ago, and I regret not having had more time to spend in them this time.  I have nothing clever or snarky to say about them.  Sorry.
  5. Phở.  I will have to learn how to make it myself.  Where on the Palouse do you suppose one could source beef tendon?
  6. Thunderstorms.  Sure, we have them in Idaho — but not like here.  I also can’t think of anything clever, enlightening or even descriptive to say about thunderstorms.  I think I’m done here.

Sort of petered out there — sorry.  Alright,time to go take pictures of all our crap and try and sell it on Craigslist, hooray!

This entry was posted in 365, Washington DC area. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

